The Interview/Job…

February 28, 2005 at 4:42 pm (Uncategorized)

So. That went infinitely better than expected. I have a job, it seems. And I don’t have to start until June 1, which was my real worry that I wouldn’t have April/May to wind down, finish classes, and actually savour my graduation a bit before throwing myself head first into the working world.

But, I went to the interview this afternoon. Allegra, the office manager who I’m taking over for, was quite sweet and charming. We chatted a lot and I did my best to sell myself, despite making a few errors like admitting I have a few problems with the University I attend. Ah well, she still liked me enough to go into the back and consult with the lawyer whose office it is about everything, and came back out after 5 minutes saying they want to hire me.

Apparently, I’m the first of many applicants who came who was actually QUALIFIED for the job. So. I will be Office Manager/Receptionist/Law clerk to a law firm that does real estate law and copyright/trade mark stuff. It should be interesting. I think I’m going to accept, though that’s the safest thing I’ve ever done in my life.

Hell, this whole office job thing really is a step backwards for my adventure quotient. I am usually very much a go, explore broad new lands, move great distances, try to be starving artist for dramatic and lovely lifestyle.

But this means I will be going no where (Namely not San Fransisco, which I had slight hopes for almost). I’ll be staying in cushy, familiar down town Toronto, working a 9-5 job for decent pay and generally leading a stable life style. I guess I had to grow up some day, and god knows I’ll continue to do my theatre work (this will just LET me continue to do it, albiet in the evenings and the weekends). And they’re even going to give me off the days that I need for the Fringe Festival (since I warned them ahead of time).

So, I think I’m going to take it. If something insanely amazing pops up between now and June, I’ll cross that bridge of decision when I come to it. But now, I have a nice job with people that seem good, a law firm that seems respectable, and in the summer the whole firm gets friday afternoons off with pay (woohoo) as long as the work isn’t swamping.

So. No more stress, I think. I am not sure my body knows what to do with that. I’m not entirely sure it’s all set in right now either. I think I can make the sacrafice of late nights for a job that pays way over minimum wage and isn’t entirely being a paper pusher.

Though it’s somewhat being a paper pusher.

C’est la vie.

Leave a comment